Culture Moves Europe: call for individual mobility of artists and cultural professionals

Culture Moves Europe

Culture Moves Europe is the permanent mobility scheme funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union and implemented by the Goethe-Institut.
It offers grants to artists, cultural professionals and host organisations in all Creative Europe countries who work in the sectors of architecture, cultural heritage, design and fashion design, literary translation, music, performing arts and visual arts.

The scheme fosters sustainable and inclusive mobility and gives particular attention to emerging artists and cultural professionals.

The scheme is composed of two action lines:

  • Individual mobility for artists and cultural professionals.
  • Residencies for host organisations.

The current call targets individual artists and cultural professionals. It runs until the end of May 2024 but has monthly cut-off dates for rolling evaluations. The mobility itself can take place at any time within one year after signature of the grant agreement, and should last between 7 and 60 days.

More information & application here

The mobility grant includes:

  • Travel costs from the place of residence to the place of destination.
    • Culture Moves Europe aims at encouraging applicants to choose sustainable ways of travelling and to opt for slow travel.
    • For people residing or willing to implement a project further than 5001km from their place of residence, the travel grant is adapted to contribute to the cost of this long distance travel.
  • Daily allowance (also called ‘per diem’) to contribute to the accommodation and subsistence.
  • Various top-ups are available to support: disabled artists and cultural professionals; green travel; participation of Outermost Regions and Overseas Countries and Territories; visa fees; and artists and cultural professionals with young children below the age of 10.

Applicants must be legally residing in a Creative Europe country (eligible countries including Overseas Countries and Territories and Outermost Regions of the European Union): Albania, Austria, Armenia, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine.

Monthly evaluation from October 2023-May 2024.

Deadline: 31 May 2024